Institution Innovation Council (IIC)

Institution Innovation Council (IIC)

About IIC

Ministry of Education (MoE), Govt. of India has established MoE’s Innovation Cell (MIC) to systematically foster the culture of Innovation among all Higher Education Institutions (HEIs). The primary mandate of MIC is to encourage, inspire, and nurture young students by supporting them to work with new ideas and transform them into prototypes while they are informative years.

MIC has envisioned encouraging the creation of ‘Institution Innovation Councils (IICs) across selected HEIs. A network of IICs is established to promote innovation and entrepreneurship in the Institution through multitudinous modes leading to an innovation promotion ecosystem on the campuses.  MIC has established the Institution's Innovation Council in more than 4110+ Institutions till August 2022.

Major Focus

  • To create a vibrant local innovation ecosystem.
  • Start-up supporting mechanism in HEIs.
  • Prepare institute for Atal Ranking of institutions on innovation achievements framework.
  • Establish a functional ecosystem for scouting ideas and pre-incubation of ideas.
  • Develop better cognitive ability among students.

Function of IIC

  • To conduct various Innovation, IPR, and entrepreneurship-related activities prescribed by MIC in a time-bound fashion.
  • Identify and reward innovations and share success stories.
  • Organize periodic workshops/ seminars/ interactions with entrepreneurs, investors, and professionals and create a mentor pool for student innovators.
  • Network with peers and national entrepreneurship development organizations.
  • Create an Institution’s Innovation portal to highlight innovative projects carried out by the institution’s faculty and students.
  • Organize Hackathons, idea competitions, mini-challenges, etc. with the involvement of industries.


Institution Innovation Council Members

S. No. Name Designation Role
1 Dr. S. Thabasu Kannan Principal President
2 Dr. R. Pandimurugan HOD/Chemistry Vice President
3 Mr. U. Vijayanarayanan HOD/Mathematics Convener
4 Mr. G. Venkateswaran Asst.Prof/IT NIRF Coordinator
5 Dr. K. Manikandan HOD/Commerce Start-up Activity Coordinator
6 Mrs. S. Banuchitra HOD/BCA Internship Activity Coordinator
7 Dr. P. Jim Linda HOD/Commerce (PA) Innovation Coordinator
8 Mr. R. Kesava Guptha HOD/English IPR Activity Coordinator
9 Mrs. S. Sharmila Jeyarani HOD/IT ARIIA Coordinator
10 Mr. R. Navaneetha Krishnan Asst.Prof/Commerce (CA) Social Media Coordinator
11 Mr. N. Ganesh Kumar Asst.Prof/IT Member
12 Mrs. J. Deepika Asst.Prof/CS
13 Mrs. B. Thilagavathi Asst.Prof/BCA
14 Ms. K. Malini Asst.Prof/Commerce (CA)